IKEA Dresser Hack Part 1

I’m so excited to be sharing this! I’ve wanted to do some furniture updating/ painting for a while now. Finding the time and the right project took some time, but it was worth it.

This is definitely not the right place to go if you are looking for advice, but who knows… maybe you’ll be able to learn from my mistakes . This was my first attempt, and i’ll be updating the blog as i make progress.


I found this simple IKEA dresser for $10 on Facebook. It’s a good size, and I knew I wouldn’t really have to do much sanding and prep. 140529_0000

It sat in my room for several weeks until I would start working on it. I already had a spray paint in a light yellow color that i’d been saving for the right project.

Pinterest became my main source of inspiration. I put together a pretty nice inspiration board. You can check it out below:

After a couple coats on the drawers:

140604_0000

I removed the handles and plan to replace them with new hardware. I want to paint the rest a blue color I think. It’s still a work in progress, but i’m enjoying it.

Hopefully the next post will be a nearly completed project. I’ll also share some of the sites/ blogs that I found helpful while planning for this project.

If you have any advice or have a relevant post that you think I should check out, leave me a comment!

 

One thought on “IKEA Dresser Hack Part 1

Leave a Reply

