Nearly-Free Knitting Needles

140524_0000


       I taught myself to knit sometime in middle school. I love it, but for some reason I lose my knitting needles on a regular basis. This usually results in me using pencils, but I wanted a better option.

       This quick project was started because I couldn’t bring myself to buy a new pair of knitting needles that I knew wouldn’t last very long.

     The biggest limit to this project is that they can only be created in one size.

140524_0003

The Steps:

  1.  Pick up an extra pair of chopsticks next time you get sushi or Chinese food.
  2. Sand down the chopsticks. (This is mostly necessary to get a finer point)
  3. Use nail polish to add color and smoothness. (This was the most fun part of the project for me)

It’s as simple as that! I know I can’t be the only person that has thought about turning chopsticks into knitting needles. If you’ve done this project before and have any more tips, i’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

